Tags

, , , , ,

Literary Magazines : The Ethereal Gazette

The Ethereal Gazette

The Ethereal Gazette

http://ethereal.ulmb.com
Joliet, IL

Circulation: 2000
Issues Per Year: 2
Manuscripts Per Issue: 16-24 (Fills about 170 to 240 pages on a 6.2 x 9.1 tradeback)
New Writers Per Year: varies on the issue
Payment Type: $10.00 (PayPal)

About

The Ethereal Gazette:
The Submission Guidelines

Nickolaus Pacione: Editor–In-Chief
Submission E-mail Address: etherealgazette@gmail.com
Query E-mail Address: npacione@gmail.com


The Ethereal Gazette first opened it’s doors to submissions sometime in 2005, when I had an overflow from Tabloid Purposes II. So I did the guidelines and next thing I knew I had a strong line up. So here I am with many issues later of the magazine and many good writers coming in the doors of the magazine. click photo for the printer friendly GLSl, but open them in a new window -- these are the general submission guidelines.
     I do special issues every fourth odd numbered issue so if you wonder about these, watch the message board for details.
     I first launched The Gazette (as what the contributors and I affectionately call the magazine) at Gothicfest 2005. The first issue was a giveaway item at my table. This magazine is actually read by some famous publishers – it’s a networking magazine in terms of the circulation.
     But I am always looking for submissions for the magazine, and I do special anthologies every now and then for the magazine along with the normal anthologies on Lake Fossil Press. It saw it’s GLS posted on Ralan.com, but in recent years I am on my own when it comes to getting the contributors – relying on message boards and yahoogroups to get the word out about the magazine or just old fashioned e-mail. So I am doing this via my official website.
     I got very talented writers over the years, and this magazine is still open for submissions no matter what – but I won’t allow is homoerotic stories of any kind, period. If you even try to send me shit of that nature (ahem Stefan Wiles,) you’re blacklisted from Lake Fossil Press. Some asshole repeated tried to query for this via e-mail, and one tried to send me plagiarisms of my own work or bastardized some of my own photography then call it a “submission.” If you send me something of this nature – you’re the subject of my wall of shame on the weblog at blogspot.
     I sell this magazine through lulu.com and will publish a few public domain stories every now and then if they strike me right.
     It’s kind of hard to explain the magazine in a few words, but it’s something that people either love or hate for some odd reason or another. I without any apologies publish horror fiction without erotic content, modern Science Fiction, Gothic Literary Fiction, and dark hued creative nonfiction (ranging from long periods of illness, Strange Stories From The Third Shift, Christian testimonies from an occult background or drug addiction background, or true paranormal accounts.)
     I do the R-rated horror but it must not have any sexual content in it. I won’t really announce the magazine guidelines on the blog because they change all the time. Just keep in mind that I am doing a local issue for 11, then the fiction stories range in the length from 1800 to 28,000 (if the story goes longer than that, please warn me in advance. Ideal range for short stories is 2000 – 6000 words.) Nonfictional entries will top out at 5000 words, but starting at 2000 words.
     If you do a real person fiction story of me – don’t write a damned slash story, if you do that sort of thing openly then you need not apply for submissions to this magazine. If you try to query for that – I will make you a resident on my weblog’s wall of shame with your e-mail posted for people to send you nasty responses.
     There are other magazines out there for this, just mine isn’t one of those. If you do one of me and don’t do it in a way where people will make me look like an asshole in the progress. Picture me in a diner drinking coffee with Edgar Allan Poe, H.P. Lovecraft, Rod Serling, or Charles Beaumont trading our manuscripts off and looking at them while I smoke a cigarette and drinking my coffee while they do the same. Trading manuscripts of our prized works. I will not consider fan fiction unless the character had been long been in the public domain, as in do a character related to the character in the public domain bringing them to the 1980s-2010s.
     I want Gothic Fiction for the Information Age. Be respectful when you do these – real person fiction gets exposure, I pay writers about $10.00 for fiction, $7 for creative nonfiction stories, and $8.00 for reprint stories (all paid via PayPal, when I get paid that’s when I pay contributors) – writers will get a .PDF copy of the magazine when it comes out.
     Local authors, I will personally deliver the copies to you in a public place. I usually meet people in diners somewhere in the Chicago area – if you’re familiar with the area then we can do the arrangement’s via e-mail.
     If you’re a long time friend who is contributing to the magazine, go ahead and tell some of your diner stories – be dark about them so it scares the hell out of the reader. I ask creative nonfiction authors to take their pictures at a diner late at night because I am nodding to a publication that helped me take the magazine into a direction that opens it more for true stories that are eerie to go with the horror yarns.
     The magazine is a cross between The Mick, Gothic Beauty, Relief Journal, Withersin Magazine, Morbid Outlook, Twilight Zone Magazine, The House Of Pain, PLOTS, and Old School Weird Tales. It’s got the Gothic sensibilities of the three listed, but one thing it’s got and I like to brag about this – it’s got a lot of muscular horror. If you’re a Goth and writing horror – the horror better be damn well scary, as in scarier than you look but no sexual content. Look dark alternative but not write dark alternative fiction – think more like Richard Matheson, Edgar Allan Poe, Stephen King, or H.P. Lovecraft in terms of the delivery.
     Some of the authors I published are Terry Lloyd Vinson, Ken Goldman, Kevin James Miller, Brian W. Keen (from the Chimeraworld series,) Robert Essig, Charles O’Connor III, Trent Zelanzy (an alumni from The House of Pain,) Barbara Majanovic (Shenouda – co-author behind House of Spiders 3,) Carol Sullivan (Dystopia Magazine’s editor) Brock Fisher, William Malmborg, and there are a huge list of others that I want to name but it would take too long to name them all in one thing. Some of the writers also appeared on Tales of the Talisman (a magazine I also appeared on.)
     Lake Fossil Press with some of its publications always published faith based dark writers in some form – and that was something I noticed as of late how faith based some of the writers were, but I had no idea because they wrote such dark horror yarns. I want the writers to write like they feel at home in both a late night diner drinking a coffee or a roadhouse drinking bottles of domestics. To get a very damn good idea what I am looking for in the magazine, pick up a copy of Tabloid Purposes IV and Tabloid Purposes or the magazine over the years. This will give you an accurate description what I am seeking in terms of fiction.
     The Gothic elements in this magazine fall in the lines of the Blue Collar population. I make the model calls in private and they will be a surprise to the writers, once in a while I will get an artist too paired up with the writers. I had one joker calling themselves a Lake Fossil Girl – the asshole sent pictures of a damned transvestite in a cemetery. So if you want to model for the magazine, please be a biological female and biological female only (I will enlist models on special issues to add to the effect of the story.)
     The style of writing I want for this magazine is Gothic, but for a point of view for the working man or working woman. This is always tricky because the writers are very protective of their visions. I will sometimes pair an artist up with a public domain horror story to see if they can do an updated version of the story in illustration.
     I want Gothic Fiction that can change what Gothic Fiction can be. Don’t do anything campy with your story here because my magazine is about being cerebral as in the writers do stories that require a lot of back reading. I was a Philosophy major in college; so that is the reason I want cerebral. Think more in terms of being rough than elegant with the Gothic Horror delivery – really build the scare if you do horror, or if you do Modern Science Fiction, think in terms of The Outer Limits in the delivery. If you’re active with the site FanFiction.net – and if I like your story enough and despise slash fiction as much as I do, I will personally invite you to submit to the magazine if you can do original fiction.
     Don’t do anything that will get me kicked off Lulu.com – they’re a damn good host for a magazine and I want to keep that relationship with them. Since I publish a page count that’s about 150 to 270 per issue they’re a place to come in handy.
     Do not send me fan fiction where you’re fan fictioning my creative properties – see the no name jagoff from Scotland. He’s actively stealing my ideas and concepts for his shitty theft of Halloween Girl and threats of doing it with Spectral Exile then Tabloid Purposes. A bunch of his friends from a forum actually did that with the character of Nicholas Kane from Spectral Exile.
     If you’re trying to slash my characters then you’re a horror target for one of my stories. Another blogger blatantly steals from my work all the time to mock me – she admitted to stealing from Tabloid Purposes and House of Spiders for her little “parody.” So if you have a story where she’s a horror target, let me see it. I publish horror where writers will fight fire with fire.
     I do all the interviews for the magazine in house along with some of the photography since I am also a photographer. If I see someone I want to do an interview with for the magazine, I will do the interview via e-mail. If you’re a photographer wanting to get published in the magazine, send me your portfolio and if I like the pictures you will be contacted via e-mail.
     I don’t publish alternative romance hued stuff so don’t push your damned Lady Gaga infused world upon me. I am a product of heavy metal music and read a lot of the books that inspired the metal bands. I don’t listen to hair metal so don’t even ask. If you write horror fiction that world, it better be damn well scary – show the dark side of that world. The side that the media doesn’t show you, and bring that horror to surface.
     I have no set deadline really for submissions but the second local author edition will have one – I am a rolling submission deal, what might work for one issue might not work for another. If you’re out of the Chicago Gothic Scene and want to contribute to the magazine – forget about the oversensitive and just looking spooky aspect of the Gothic Community in Chicago. I want you to actually scare people, and have the little mall Goth bastards crawling back to mother in terms of them getting scared out of their wits.
     Musically this magazine is influenced by Iron Maiden, Metallica, ULTIMATUM, Bloodstream Parade, Saviour Machine, SlipKnot, and some others thrown in for good measure. If you’re a Hot Topic type of Goth, you might find this kind of magazine way too shocking for you in the delivery in terms of horror.
     It’s dark, menacing, uncompromising, and very UN-PC. Which means get used to hearing to other F-word being dropped in stories. We thrive on the first amendment, and like to do stories that are dark in nature relating that – and we’re not afraid to be a little disgusting with the content too. The trait from The House of Pain we have is that we’re quite violent and disturbing, and the trait from PLOTS Magazine is that we don’t use sexual content for the horror scare.
     We’re not looking for Interview With The Vampire or Lost Souls in terms of the vampire (won’t even touch the second one. Think in terms of Richard Matheson in terms of horror. Think his style of character development or H.P. Lovecraft in terms of development of characters. Don’t even try sending me something that is very slash fiction oriented unless it’s similar to The Fandom Writer – meaning you’re doing a horror story that verbally wails on these types hard — if you want to make fun of the slash fiction trend in your story. Be my guest. Write the story like you have a death wish coming – a fight fire with fire attitude.)
     I look for a new kind of horror story when seeking stories for the magazine. Think what’s really scary and sit in front of the word processor and write it – don’t’ censor yourself either. If you’re submitting your testimony, don’t be afraid and drop a few swear words in there to give it a feel that’s raw like the rest of the magazine. Read the magazine and the magazine, Withersin, because I was featured in that one too on their first issue. I want the new kind of scare but a traditional horror scare feel.
     If you’re in a band (Gothic Metal, Thrash, Speed, Doom, Industrial, or Death Metal) and had some weird or fucked up backstage stories – I want the story from one representative in the band telling the story with all the input from the rest of the band. These type of stories I will run two of them per issue along with the other creative non-fiction stories in the magazine (Five creative non-fiction stories in all will be selected for the magazine.)
     Scare me with the story if you can. Think if Rod Serling or Charles Beaumont wrote the story.
     The formats I seek for the magazine are .doc (Microsoft Word) .rtf (Rich Text Format) .wps (Microsoft Works) and .odt (Open Office Document Text format) as attachments to my magazine e-mail address. I respond to other writers fairly quickly, but if you come to me about having a story pulled out of the magazine you must inform me 2 weeks before the magazine goes to print. It’s like when you’re quitting a job, you just don’t up and leave — you give the boss two weeks notice.


Submission Information

Genres
  • Biography & Memoir
  • Fiction
  • Horror
  • Nonfiction
  • Novella
  • Regional
  • Religious
  • Science Fiction
  • Supernatural & Occult

Submission Methods
  • Accepts Email Queries

Average Story Length: 1800 to 8800 (ideal 4500 to 7500) then 10,000 to 26,000
Story Length Limit: 34,000

Submit
  • SASE
  • Manuscript
  • Word Count

Response Times
Queries: Instant to 24 Hours
Manuscripts: Instant to 72 hours

Additional Information

Issue 10 is available right now on Lulu.com for purchase. Contributors retain their original copyrights and will get a .pdf copy of the issue they’re in. You can also ge them right from me by sending $16.00 as a check or money order to the post office box listed and I will have the issue mailed out to you the next day. (This will be including shipping and handling in the lower 48. AK and HI please allow extra time for shipping.) Keep in mind, I have to pay for my own copies at cost. So if you want them for what I pay for them drop me an e-mail and I will give you an estimate so I can get them for you at what I get them for them. Keep in mind — I want GOTHIC with this. No eroticism of any kind and keep the fucker scary.



Contact Information

Contact(s)
Nickolaus A. Pacione (Founder)

Either send as an e-mail submission or a CD-R to the post office box with a media rate padded SASE so it doesn’t get broken in the transition. Please write “Nickolaus Pacione” on the outside envelope of your CD-R of the manuscript with your paypal information in the cover letter.



Posted is the cover from Issue 10 of the magazine, and this one can be grabbed up on Lulu.com.

Address:
P.O. Box 431
Joliet, IL 60434

Email: etherealgazette@gmail.com