Tags

,

This is one of the H.P. Lovecraft classes that inspired my own works. Without H.P. Lovecraft there even wouldn’t be a Nickolaus Pacione on the dark landscape writing about his nightmares and other dark bugbears in the night grabbing the attention of the readers in the pages of Dark Gothic Resurrected, Withersin and Tales of the Talisman. H.Pl Lovecraft is one of the writers I am most compared to with my ghost stories and the nightmares on codexed.com. Lovecraft is the reason I am even out there scaring the fuck out of everyone in the genre and publishing writers who know how to do the scares too. This book is a classic in the genre and one that needs to be read. I read it in one of the Lovecraft collections I had back when I was living in Glendale Heights. It had been since 1997 I first discovered H.P. Lovecraft and even getting to publish three of his lesser known stories in my publications I have that deep connection to his work. I will forever be linked to H.P. Lovecraft with The Midnight Diner, Ghosts In The Tornado and I.O.W.A.

Non-Horror Reader Survey

Title:The Case of Charles Dexter Ward
Author:H.P. Lovecraft
Publisher (read edition):Del Rey

Lovecraft is one of those writers that you either love or hate. But despite how you feel about him, it is undeniable his influence on modern dark fiction. The Case of Charles Dexter Ward is an example of all of that. One of the backbone stories of Lovecraft’s Cthulhu Mythos, it tells the tale of the eponymous character in his research into an ancient relative with a sinister history. True to a trait of any Lovecraft story, the search for knowledge that humankind is not ready for leads to disastrous and disturbing fates.

What a lot of people don’t care for about Lovecraft is the writing, mostly the tendency to write in a more archaic tone and vocabulary. It the first third of the book, it is one of the heaviest uses of that…

View original post 326 more words