Tags

, , , , ,

I am about 1800 words into this one and it is taking me longer to flesh this one out. It is different from “Apt. #2W” or “The Pattern of Diagnosis” but it has traits of the latter one and the full length I started back in 2008. I am relating a little bit about the entry called 21 Days. “The Ward” is about my time at Saint Joseph’s Hospital in Joliet back in December of 2008. I am going to provide a link to the fifth issue of The Ethereal Gazette so everyone can read “The Pattern Of Diagnosis.” Issue Five was the most diverse of The Ethereal Gazette issues in terms of stories I got, the breakout star from Issue 3 did the cover art for this one and it was the first oil painting cover I got for the magazine. The Ethereal Gazette publication of “The Pattern of Diagnosis” includes a photograph I took of myself in front of old Cook County Hospital. “The Ward” is as dark as “Pattern of Diagnosis” is — it will carry the trait of the longer asylum nonfiction story in The Ethereal Gazette: Issue 8.
       I am writing “The Ward” as N.A. Pacione, the name I went as when Withersin published “Apt. #2W” I added some more things to that one when I included it in The Ethereal Gazette, details about my first ghost hunt in 1996 and Bachelor’s Grove in 2000 and included a little more swearing in that one where I have Michelle and Shawn referred in the story by their first names only. Shawn inspired the story “The Typewriter” and Michelle became the subject of “The Room Mate” in The Ethereal Gazette: Issue 9. That story was sent around myspace to entertain my friends via bulletin. It was written out of a joke to a DJ that was staying with her at the time of the second Gothicfest. I sent this story to Misty for Withersin but she turned it down because she knew who it was about. The Room Mate is the weirdest story I wrote and at the time the funniest because the humor came out of The Outer Limits.
        The doctor in “The Ward” I refer to is the same doctor I Was seeing when I wrote “The Room Mate.” Issue 6 hosted my first conducted interview in print with a horror hostess that was done completely in character — I showed the issue to another horror host. I would like to do an anthology featuring horror hosts as writers. It was a lot of fun to do the interview because anthologists and magazine publishers play the role in print. I am looking to do something like that again with Lake Fossil Press having an anthology with traits of Terry Vinson’s Bone Chills having the framework story and having the characters of the framework become the final story. “The Ward” though is going to have traits of a story I wrote in 2004 that got me noticed on Author’s Den titled “The Hand Trembler.” The website HorrorGenre.com actually started following my AuthorsDen.com site from reading The Hand Trembler and House of Spiders.
       There are critics who take a shit on my fiction, but when it comes to writing nonfiction I had magazines seek me out then they turn around and publish my fiction after reading the dark creative nonfiction. The breakout star from Issue 5 was the first one to read “The Pattern of Diagnosis” and Issue 5 almost didn’t happen because of my ill health at the time. But Issue 5 when it was completed became the seed of the fourth incarnation of Tabloid Purposes. The controversial issues of the magazine are Issue 6 and Issue 10. The darkest was Issue 12 and saw the most talent thrown in there with the writers and illustrators. Issue 3 and Issue 6 were unique because Alex Rivera can illustrate his own work and he is an expert illustrator. I can’t illustrate my own work so I use photography.
      I designed my author’s bio for Dark Gothic Resurrected when I was accepted for that magazine. “The Pattern of Diagnosis” was simulcasted in both magazines. It was billed as based on true events in Dark Gothic Resurrected but the story is a true story about my trying to find a doctor who made house calls at the apartment. The seed of the story was published in Dirty Black Winter. I usually did the nonfiction in house with the magazine, and when I started writing as Lloyd Phillip Campbell I wanted to have him as an in house contributor when I would publish my nonfiction in the magazine.